Eurospeak Language School

Great Britain, the UK or the British Isles?

But don’t they all mean the same thing? Well, not exactly…

Great Britain is the island containing England, Scotland and Wales. Northern Ireland is on the island to the west, next to the Republic of Ireland.

The UK is the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland and is the name which we use for the political group and nation.

The British Isles is used to include all of the islands around the UK as a group, including Jersey and Guernsey in the Channel, the Isle of Man in the Irish Sea, and the Shetlands off the north coast of Scotland, even though some of these are mostly self-governed.



Leave a Reply